top of page

ABPCO set for a successful year with six additions to Executive Board during virtual AGM

The Association of British Professional Conference Organisers (ABPCO) confirmed the appointment of six industry leaders and experts to its Executive Board during yesterday’s virtual AGM.

Attended by over 50 members, the AGM served as a platform to outline ABPCO's ambitious plans for the upcoming year. These will build on a strong past year, including growth across all areas of the association’s offering. The plans offer significant opportunities for growth and advancement of the UK’s only association dedicated to the organisers of association conferences and events.

Also announced was the opening of entries for the 2023 ABPCO Excellence Awards via

The new board members bring a wealth of expertise and fresh perspectives to ABPCO, ensuring continued progress and long-term success for the association. The new board members are:

  • Madalina Marincas - Opening Doors and Venues

  • Katie Bolton - MCI UK

  • Sarvjit Wunsch – Association of Upper Gastrointestinal Surgery

  • Sammy Connell - NASUWT - The Teachers' Union

  • Sarah Vaughan - The Chartered Institute of Trade Mark Attorneys

  • Kate Sargent – Bioscientifica Ltd

During the AGM, ABPCO’s chairs, Sarah Byrne and Emma Duffy, also expressed thanks, on behalf of the whole association, to four departing board members who have each played integral roles in the association's growth and achievements over the last few years:

  • Barbara Calderwood - MCI UK and past co-chair of ABPCO

  • Michael Smith – CBI and past co-chair of ABPCO

  • Martin Linfield - James Hallam and outgoing treasurer of ABPCO

  • David Parker - Royal College of Physicians

  • Laura Wilson - Speakeasy

Martin Linfield is succeeded in the role of treasurer by incoming board member, Kate Sargent.

“As these dedicated individuals join ABPCO’s executive board, the association looks ahead to another successful year, driven by the passion of our members. We look forward to capitalising on past achievements and embracing new opportunities for growth, innovation, and professional development,” concludes Heather Lishman, ABPCO’s Association Director.


bottom of page